Dread Necromancer, Best Necro option?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
well im relatively new to DnD been playing for about 4-6 months and im reallly happy with my ranger/fighter i built. but im starting to make a back up character (cause my fighter is so awesome i dont need to put anymore thought into him). i sopent way to much time reading through the book s and i caught on rather fast so im kind of trying to figure out if i missed anything.

but i was toying around with an idea of a necromancer who would have a not really a horde of undead but a few really awesome ones. now im not worried about deployment just yet ill look into that when the time comes but i saw dread necromancer and was thinking (correct me if im wrong ) but undead mastery if you max out charisma you could have 90 HD worth of undead following you around? (animate dead spell) that kind of sounds rediculous but dreads cant pick their spell list and they can only learn necromancy spells (+ the summon undead, which are conjuration) and for a caster thats a major set back.

now im friends with the dm and he would work with me for what ever i need (giving me something but making it have consequences). i would be lv 10 with roughly 50k starting gold, not including anything i want from the PHB. i wanted 8 lvs in dread necro anything after that doesnt really seem worht it. so i need a decent prestige class that might help me out with the same direction (i can work with soemthing else as long as it doesnt make me skip a casting lv)

but as far as fests go, if i use corpscrafter along with undead mastery, and desecration iv already got undead with +8 str, +4 dex and if i had a shrine in desecration +4 HP a HD. that being said animate dead only alows you to create skeletons and zombies (so besides ettin skeletons wich are pretty good) what kind of undead are best for making a few strong as hell ones (assuming i didnt read it wrong and if i have a +5 cha bonus i could have 90 HD of undead)