Unfocused Group

18 posts / 0 new
Last post
Alright, so I've been gaming for...er...well let's say that I'd be a neurosurgeon if I had spent as much time studying as I've spent playing this blessed game. Anyway, my point is, I'm no newbie. And for the majority of the time I've been playing, I've been DMing. But for the first time ever, I personally have a group that cannot focus to save their lives (literally -- I've already logged several legitimate kills because they're just not paying attention to what's going on in the battle, e.g. that the party thief is standing RIGHT IN FRONT OF A PORTAL WITH DEMONS REACHING FROM THE OTHER SIDE!). Anywho, the players start talking about all kinds of crap during melee: the newest mini at the table, some new DnD book a member of the group has purchased, etc. Now, I understand that this stuff happens at every table to a certain extent, but it's gotten so bad that we'll only get through an encounter or two every 4-5 hours. It drives me as a DM to sheer boredom and insanity. I have considered that we have 6-7 players, so they might be getting bored between turns, as well, but I'm hesitant to turn anyone away. No one seems to have their planned attack teed up when it's their turn, I have to manage the initiative keeper CONSTANTLY, and someone is always looking at their power cards adding up their bonuses as if it's the first time they've ever played. It's driving me nuts, so I'm taking it to the Forums - HELP ME!!!!!