I finally figured out what was bothering me about 4ed - Format, Not Mechanics!

340 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ok, I've been playing D&D since 1991 and took a hiatus during all of 3.x; I have come back to the fold with 4e and am running a very successful campaign. I got the PHB and such and like many 4e detractors, was immediately grumbly about "Where is D&D? Why are all the classes the same?" and had a negative view.

Anyways, I started playing (DM'ing really) and have had a blast playing the game. Yet, something still doesn't sit with me (outside of ritual casting, I am still not a fan of EVERYONE being able to ritual cast, but that's beside the point)

I was reading some of the forums and much of what is complained about over the years of posts is the fact that all powers for all classes tend to have (quoted from a post long ago)

In 4th, you find there are maybe five powers:
1) Deal damage
2) Deal damage + move,
3) Damage + move foe
4) Damage + heal yourself
5) Damage + status effect

now look at 3.5 powers
damage
status effect
sv or die
for the most part that's it, seriously look at the spells and abilities.

So, here's the thing, the formatting of the powers makes it easy to discern the mechanics of the action, but it doesn't really tell you what the power does! There is a snippet of flavor text, but outside of that, you basically have a power block that looks bland and lifeless and is the same across all of the classes. So, many people have boiled the powers down to being different names for the same thing across all of the classes.

Here is an example: Confounding Arrows - Ranger Attack 15 - Your targets won't know what hit them.