D&D Encounters Field Reports (Week 5)

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
Use this thread to discuss your experiences with week 5 of D&D Encounters Season 4 - March of the Phantom Brigade.

For more reports and reviews of Encounters check out these blogs (and please suggest more):
Dungeon's Master
Glitterdust
Perpetual Geek Machine
Wielding a Bohemian Ear Spoon
Sartredes

Please realize that both players and DMs read these threads, so do not put spoilers in your posts. If your post goes into enough details, then you absolutely must use spoilers. Enclose the spoilery bit in [*sblock=spoiler stuff][*/sblock]  (just remove the *) spoiler block tags so that players who haven't played yet don't have the surprise ruined for them. 

[*sblock=spoilerey stuff]

blahblahblah

[*/sblock]

will produce

spoilerey stuff

blahblahblah

once you remove the *.

This was my first week, ever, as DM for both Encounters and 4e (though I have lots of GM experience in other game systems).

We had 2 DMs and 7 players this week. The other DM took 4 who are regulars at his table, and I had 3 players who were all new to Encounters this week. Since I had all newbies, I passed out the pre-gens and allowed them to select. We ended up with:

Brandis – Human Cavalier

Valenae – Eladrin Warpriest (Sun Domain)

Keira – Elven Thief

spoilerey stuff

I started off with a recap of chapter 1, pretty extensive since this was all-new information to them and not just a recap for players who have already played through those sessions. I went over the journey from Hammerfast to Inverness; their interactions to date with Splintershield, Malgram, and Faldyra; the appearance of the Ghost Tower; and the situation with Salazar Vladistone.