Yexil Miniature Build

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
Bueno fine folks! I've decided to put together a journal\diary\tutorial of my first attempt to hack together a miniature. Brief history and introduction, my name is Ryan, I started playing D&D and collecting miniatures back in August of last year (2010 or Six Monkey Slap-Slap minus 152 years). My wife got me Gamma World for my birthday and I ran it for my group on an off date of our normal D&D adventure. It was fun as hell for me as the world was quite open to my madness as was the group.

Though I know miniatures are not at all a necessity for playing, I love plastic thingies. One of the silliest looking creatures I've seen in Gamma World is the beloved Lion-Bat-Insect-Mandible-Laser-Eyes beast. I chose that for my first foray in to the world of miniature crafting\Frankensteining. So this is the story of my Yexil miniature.

SAFETY SAFETY SAFETY
The use of knives and heat guns mean the risk of laceration and burns.  This should only be attempted by adults or under strict adult supervision.  I am not a professional, so unless you have general knowledge about tool safety and common sense, do not try this at home.
SAFETY SAFETY SAFTEY

Tools:
1500W Electric Heat Gun
Exacto Knife with fresh blade
Cutting Mat
Helping Hands

Materials:
Blessed Hunter Unhallowed D&D Miniature ($2.99 at trollandtoad.com)
Shadowhunter Bat  Dungeons of Dread #58 D&D Miniature ($2.99 at trollandtoad.com)
Some kind of soft hardening glue\epoxy (TBD)
Paints (TBD)

PART 1