Question About This Season of Encounters and 4E

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello all, I am new to the Encounters section of threads, and figured you guys would be best to pose my question to. I am running the 4th season of Encounters here at home for my family. We have yet to create Essentials characters and have been using just the base 4E core books for character creation.

I am wondering if not using the Essentials characters will affect the difficulty rating of the encounters themselves. I am totally unfamiliar with the way Essentials characters function, and so I am not sure if not using them will "un-balance" the encounters.

Currently, the party consists of:
A Minotaur Avenger
A Dragonborn Fighter
A Tiefling Cleric
An Eladrin Wizard
An Elf Ranger

Please let me know if this will throw a wrench in the challenge level of the Encounters Season, and if so, perhaps (aside from outright switching to Essentials made characters) what you would do to adjust them.

Thanks!

P.S. Ahead of time, this is not an anti-Essentials thread. I own the Monster Vault, DM's Kit, Red Box, and Rules Compendium. I have just not purchased the two player supplements yet.

Hello all, I am new to the Encounters section of threads, and figured you guys would be best to pose my question to. I am running the 4th season of Encounters here at home for my family. We have yet to create Essentials characters and have been using just the base 4E core books for character creation.

I am wondering if not using the Essentials characters will affect the difficulty rating of the encounters themselves. I am totally unfamiliar with the way Essentials characters function, and so I am not sure if not using them will "un-balance" the encounters.

A Minotaur Avenger
A Dragonborn Fighter
A Tiefling Cleric
An Eladrin Wizard
An Elf Ranger