[CRL] Painting miniatures - any tips?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have this and the other game and I was thinking about actually painting some if not eventually all the minis.  Anyone know a good site to teach a newbie?  Any idea how much of an investment this would be (very generally speaking, obviously things like quality of brushes/paint can vary).

Can I undo any bad paint jobs?

I'm nervous about ruining the figures but would like to paint them plus I could use them for RPGs.  Thanks!
Check out any sites about painting warhammer minis. They should have good guides. I painted some boardgame minis quite some time ago, and they turned out OK. I wouldn't worry to much about ruining them, just buy some cheap brushes and model paints and go to town.
Hi.
I just started painting these myself (after a 20 year gap).
Best advice i can give (though maybe not the best advice you can get) is....

Get some acrylic paints, the warhammer ones are good, or any others will do.  Im actually using some really cheap ones from a kids paint set, i just mix colours to get what i want.  I also have some Warhammer ones from the "Lord of the Rings" Goblin starter set, which also includes a brush and 10 or so little Goblins to practice with

If its not the Warhammer ones then use a few drops of water to thin them a little before you start.

Paint all black to start with (or white depending on the colours, white seems to be good for brighter coloured figures, though black seems to suit just about everything).
Keep the paint thin and dont use too much paint, less is more.
Once dry start adding colours, large areas first.