8/23/2010 MM: "Making Memories"

58 posts / 0 new
Last post
This thread is for discussion of this week's Making Magic, which goes live Monday morning on magicthegathering.com.

I was totally owned by Mark. I choose to interpret this as a sign of his genius, rather than my gullibility.  (Though, I am a data analyst now, not a programmer.)
Lee Sharpe Data Analyst Wizards of the Coast
Wicked art and design...both in the positive and negative senses.

You said you were touched, but did you feel any guilt over the people who messaged you with concern? If, God forbid, you should have an actual crisis, do you think you could actually do a repeat and not have it taken as another joke or game?
What convinced me it was a set-up (beside the unfamiliarity of it, having been a DailyMTG reader since its birth) was that the One Hundred and Counting blurb for the article in question was written in the present tense (explore). On its own not quite enough, but enough of a red flag to confirm my suspicions.
I have been punked. Well played.
I admit, you sure know how to provoke a reaction.  Still, like guyinthetie pointed out, you made it seem like you had some sort of private emergency, which I'm guessing made a lot of people (myself included) rather sad.  On the whole, I don't know whether the article's cleverness and appropriateness quite make up for all the bad feelings spread around.  I'm left admiring the idea, and admiring almost all of the execution, but I'm left wishing that you could have made it more clear that neither you nor your family was hurt, you didn't have cancer, etc., etc.

Also, not to nitpick, since it's relatively minor compared to my above complaint, but I think you've misunderstood or misrepresented some of your readers' responses.  For instance:

"ObsidianDice @maro254 Yes - I've read every article on Making Magic, Latest Developments, and Serious Fun."