Did I screw my character by volunteering to judge?

16 posts / 0 new
Last post

So I'm new to the RPGA; I've been playing for about a month, and I've decided to judge my first adventure on Monday (won't say which one to avoid spoilers.)  I was prepping my material, flipping through the end of the adventure, when I came across one of the story rewards: step one of a Major Quest.

Having judged this adventure, I'm not clear whether I'm allowed to play through it later; even if I were allowed to, I'm not sure how fair it would be to the other players.  So does this mean that by volunteering to DM, I've entirely missed out on a long-term quest?  Or will future adventures also contain lead-ins to the same quest thread?

Check out my blog--now REACTIVATED with DnDnext feedback!
Replaying is completely legal for players and judges.  You haven't missed out on anything!  

Dan Anderson @EpicUthrac
Total Confusion www.totalcon.com
LFR Calimshan Writing Director
LFR Epic Writing Director

LFR Myth Drannor Writing Director

You are definitely allowed to play mods that you GM. And that you've played before on other characters.

But a note if you're new to playing after GMing a mod ... I personally let other players take the lead in making important decisions that I know the exact "right" answer for after GMing the particular mod. That's not to say I won't roleplay my character but it can ruin some surprises for the other folks if I say "and here is where the ambush comes up so everyone draw your weapons ... oh wait, did I say that out loud?"

What would be your thoughts on this hypothetical rule:

"After party completes an adventure, the judge can choose one of his own characters to gain experience, items, and story rewards as if that character were in the party. "
It has been suggested a number of times (see the CCG suggestions thread in the RPGA General forum). I personally don't see it happening, but I don't think I would mind it if it were implemented.