D&D Encounters as supplement

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everyone,

I started a thread before, but something went wrong. Hopefully this one will go through!

I apologize if this question has already been addressed, but I couldn't find anything about it.

This past week, I have been reading around the internet about D&D Encounters. I found it a very exciting new way to play D&D. The renown system makes you feel like your character really gets famous amongst adventurers, you really feel like you're part of something big. Also, the fact that each encounter takes only an hour or two really works well for those people who don't have a lot of time on their hands. Unfortunately, I don't live near a place where it is hosted, so I can't enjoy this way of playing D&D myself. I don't mind, because I have a fun group of friends to play with.

But, this whole idea got me thinking. I am a teacher of English as a second language, and some of my pupils found out about this little hobby of mine called D&D, and they got very excited when they heard what it was. They keep asking me about it. It's quite funny, really.

I wouldn't mind hosting a couple of games for them, perhaps I could even turn it into something educational, but I really don't have time to prepare much, and these kids don't have all the time in the world to play after school.

So I was thinking, will the materials that stores get be released as a supplement, once this season is finished? It would be really easy if I could just buy a whole set with pre-made characters, dungeons that only take 2 to 3 hours but are still part of a story, and if more pupils want to play, the renown system makes for some friendly competition as well. It would be a really great set for starting up something at school!

Thank you for reading.
Daniel