Miniatures for D&D Encounters (possible spoilers)

21 posts / 0 new
Last post
I get a kick out of trying to find exactly the right miniature for each monster in an encounter.  I'm always pleased when I see something like "Magma Hurler" or "Guard Drake" in an adventure, and then discover there's a miniature that matches that exactly.

I'm fairly new to miniature collecting, so I tend to buy singles from previous releases only as I need them.  I often use the site www.ddmdb.com to research what minis are available.

I'm going to be DMing the D&D Encounters for my FLGS, so I've read through the adventure and come up with a list of the miniatures I think I'll be using.  I've ordered some of them, and I already own some.  There are some monsters that I'll just be using the provided tokens for.

Has anyone else done this (planned out what minis they'll be using)?  May I ask what mini you've decided on for the two main NPC's, F____ and X____?  Have there been other hard-to-match monsters that you've discovered?  I've decided that everything in session 6 (Encounter 2-2) will be done with tokens, because I cannot find any minis that even remotely match these monsters.

Mark

Yeah Encounter 2-2 is a tough one.  Abyssal Maw's could work for Pulsars.  A Grell or Intellect Devourer might be ok for the Thought Eater.  And maybe a Mad Slasher for the Lashers.

I try to do the same thing. Off the top of my head I do not recall what I was using where, but I will go back and take a look.

For F tonight I used a female caster-looking human/elf/kalishtar/half elf/tall halfling mini . Mostly it was a female mini I had sitting in my box since I forgot to pull something for her. Ooops. I can find the specific mini if anyone REALLY wants to know. For NPCs I hope to mostly match their race/sex and if I am lucky then match their class/equipment. For some odd reason most of the important NPCs end up looking like my PCs.