Simple questions from a noob.

70 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey, I am extremely new to Magic, but I believe I have grasped most of the basics. There are a few things that I am having trouble understanding, and I apologize ahead of time if I am just repeating someone else's question(s). I searched, but that does not mean I didn't miss something on the forums.

First question: Cards like "Jace, the Mind Sculptor," are used how? I noticed four different abilities with a different symbol and number next to each. Again, I know this is probably a simple question, but bare with me since I am not denying being a noob.

Second: When a (nonbasic) land card has an ability that says "Add 1(colorless) mana to your mana pool" does that mean just add 1 more mana to the mana you have from lands or does that mean add any color land to the field under your control? An example being the "Quicksand" land card. On that same note, does that card act as a colorless land just with the ability to add more mana or does the ability refer to the card being the equivalent of 1 land? Another example is "Everflowing Chalice" and the multikicker ability. The ability adds a charge counter for each time it was kicked, and for each charge counter on Everflowing Chalice your mana pool increases by 1 (colorless).

Also, is there a purpose behind the land card "Terramorphic Expanse"? I understood that it counted as a colorless land card, but I am sure I am very likely mistaken. If, by chance, I am correct, what would be the purpose of tapping and sacrificing it to just find another land card if Terramorphic Expanse already counted as a land card? I realize things end up getting more complex than this in many different games, but I am just trying to get a basic grasp of things for now.