Gamer by Night, _______ by Day?

57 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm a 40yr old Science teacher in a prestigious private school here in Sydney. I have a Degree in Biology and and a Masters in Education. I am involved in a number of programs with education, such as Tournament of Minds, liaising with University school programs and patron for one of school "houses" (a little like the ones found at Hogwart's for the uninitiated).

I'm married to a current non-gamer (she has played in the past) who happens to be a craft-olic. She also loves literature, sci-fi and fantasy. She still battles to get me to play boardgames. Kids are planned down the track and we both dabble in the property market.

I closet away my gaming habit from most of those I work with, although some of my closer colleagues know I game. I throw elements of gaming into my lessons where I can which appeals to the dramatic leanings of a number my students. My students don't know I game as it doesn't really seem to enter their social mindset although they do know I'm a geek and kind of like it (one got me Star Wars lego last Xmas).
UTC +10 (UTC +11 from October-March) I know what "bree-yark" really means. Fear my wrath!
I'm a student full time and I work for a state program where I help Autistic kids with their therapies and other needs.  It's flexible, with one kid I actually get paid to take him to DnD games where we both play which needless to says rocks.  My wife has been playing DnD with me for about a year now also and is about to take on the reigns of dming as well.
Hmm so if I now claimed I live in my parents basement and am unemployed, financing my D&D addiction by being a volunteer for medical testing (psychoactive drugs), that would not be believable anymore? Dang.

You are Dutch. The moment you use "basement" and living in one sentence made it somewhat unbelievable ;) (Yeah, I know they do exist, but still...)