Differences between 3.5 and 4?

459 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have a couple of friends who are thinking of starting to play 4th ed, after taking some years off gaming.  Does anyone know of a link I can forward to them that describes some of the main differences between the two editions?  I can describe them myself (which I may do), but a link or two would be nice.

Any suggestions?

mc
Here's a link to the quick start rules:  www.wizards.com/dnd/TryDnD.aspx

This may have the information you are seeking.
<\ \>tuntman
Everything has changed. It's a completely new system. First rule of 4e is, it's not 3e. Go into it under the mindset that you're going to be playing a new game.
What I've gathered so far (and I just started playing 4e, and never played any previously):

- when monsters attack you, you don't roll, it's just whether or not their roll is higher than the particular skill (reflex, strength, fortitude, whatever) that they are attacking

- I hear a lot of "4e sucks," "it's like a video game," "it's not even like D&D," and blah, blah, blah. I've been looking through some 3.5 stuff, and I see 4e as much less complicated and easier to learn, but that's just a personal opinion.

Some people say that 4e doesn't leave enough to the imagination or that you can't get a good background story going. I have no idea what they're talking about, because my characters have very complex background stories and issues. When I revealed one's background to a long-time players' group last night, they were all really impressed with my little tale. And these guys have played for years, and previous editions.

I'm really glad I decided to go with 4e. And for those who prefer 3.5, I'm glad PathFinder is still publishing material for those guys. Smile
Eek I can see this going downhill fast. My advice as a 3.X player.