11/5/2009 Judge Article: "The Layer System"

17 posts / 0 new
Last post

This thread is for discussion of the Judge Article The Layer System.

These layers have driven me crazy since I returned to the game. I'm no expert on them now having read the article, but I definitely have a better grasp on the concept. It's like some code was deciphered. I feel like an article like this really was overdue and I am sure I will be referencing it from time to time.

I can't wipe the smile off of my face. This always happens when someone else references one of my FAQs--I start to feel all warm and fuzzy inside and this inane grin of paternal pride paints itself across my face. It generally takes a few minutes for the ego-swelling to wear off, but when it's in an official article on the site...this may take a day or two. :P

Huh; looks like the author email isn't working. I guess they don't set it up for non-columnists or something. I managed to find another way to contact Justin to respond, though.

Come join me at No Goblins Allowed

Because frankly, being here depresses me these days.

It's nitpicky, but shouldn't that be layer 6 mentioned in 7c of the 4th question? That's the one where all the abilities get wiped out - except for the Opalescence, the Copy of Opalescence, and Humility, all of which started applying their abilities before they got wiped out.

I'm trying to hammer that part into my head, as I had originally assumed that the Opalescence part carried over because you can't have a creature without a power/toughness that's set. Of course, this could be the reason why the rules let an ability that started applying continue to apply all parts.

MTG Rules Advisor

Found this article from the DCIJUDGE list.

I first learned the layer system when I heard a L0 friend mention the changes to layers, and realized that I didn't even know what they were.