What's the average age of a D&D player these days?

33 posts / 0 new
Last post

When I started playing D&D back in the 80's the game stores were crowded with kids at the age of 13-20, but these days the remaining stores have put all D&D material in the back of the stores, and the only people finding the way into that dungeon is people like me, in the 40's or maybe at least 30-45 years of age. I seldom see any kids, guess they are at the computer game store instead.

Anyway, I have seen WoC making surveys on their site asking about age, but I have never seen any reports on the average age, or the distribution of age among the D&D players these day.

Does anybody know? Anybody seen any statistics?

It would just be interesting to know, are we a dying breed among a digital generation taking over, focusing only on computer games? or are new players finding and enjoying D&D as I did a long time back?

I have seen 16-20 and 30-40 ranges in about equal numbers. But that is just my own observations though, not any survey.

Et in arcadia ego~Even in paradise I am here Est Sularus Oth Mithas~My Honor Is My Life You, sir, are a liar. Or delusional. I like your style.- Zombie_Babies
Show
The two editions are very different...and make for two different games. In general, 3.0/3.5 is built around more-or-less full freedom in terms of character customization. In contrast, 4.0 is built around balance and ease of play. Honestly, I think WotC should have maintained both lines as parallel games.
(real life friends came up with this not me) The Resident Nonexistant Antichrist Neanderthal Amish Werewolf Jesus Delusion.

this tends to vary among region.