DnD4e Combat Tracker Utility

99 posts / 0 new
Last post

I've been running a 4e game for a while now, and I use my laptop as my GM screen.

As such, I've spent a decent amount of time examining the various GM digital assistant offerings out there. I've mainly been using Virtual Combat Cards, MasterPlan, and OneNote to do what I want to do.

All are excellent offerings. However, none of them have exactly the feature set I want while running a fight. Since I prefer to fix rather than complain, I went about writing my own (being a programmer myself).

I've gone through a few versions now (mostly posted on RPG.net and ENworld), and I'm now putting it up here for the world to examine, use, curse at, and lampoon.

DnD4e Combat Manager Page

(you may have to remove the _ characters from the sides of the file name to open the .zip...no idea why SkyDrive is doing that)

The specifics:

• Windows XP and later only

• Requires .NET Framework 3.5 installed (if you have the Character Builder or Monster Builder installed, you have this)

• Can paste 'Copy to Rich Text' data from the Monster Builder on DnDi (button above the list on Library window, also button on individual detail screen).  Now compatible with the new MB release!

• Full initiative tracking.

• Effect tracking, now with automatic drop-off of 'Until Start/End' type effects.

• Powers available/used tracking

• Allows common HP/XP House Rules options to modify monsters (Dropdown titled 'Mod': Demi = 1/2hp+2/3xp, Semi = 1/4hp+1/3xp, Minion = 1hp+1/4xp)

• Displays full statblock on the main window. No need to bounce around looking for information (main reason I wrote this).

• Automatic saving of all entered Statblocks

• Ability to save and load encounter configurations

• Text-entry field for notes on each combatant, as well as encounter-level notes.

Screenshot:

9aplhx.jpg

It is still a work-in-progress. Please let me know what you like, hate, or want.