Oriental Adventures: Remember Kara-Tur?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
I know that in 1987 Kara-Tur was relocated to Forgotten Realms, BUT, there's so much more that could be done with East Asian culture in D&D. The settings for D&D have typically been Western, which is cool, but wouldn't it be cooler to incorporate more possibilities into our fantasies? I call for a new set of Monsters, Weapons, Races, Traits, Feats, and Spells and Magical Items inspired by the East. Who wouldn't want to try to play something akin to a Halfling Ninja or an Elven Samurai or a Drow Miko (a Japanese female shaman). Chinese, Korean, Thai, Vietnamese, and Japanese works of classical literature are being translated at an incredible rate. We are discovering new ideas for monsters and spells from these ancient texts. I feel this is an area that has not been utilized to its fullest potential. 

Perhaps I am biased a bit. I am a PhD student of Comparative Literature that studies literature of the East. Heck, I'll write it up if enough of you want such a thing.

=)
Andy G 
I have the Kara Tur boxed set;).

Fear is the Mind Killer

I'm not often Jealous of Zardnaar, but when I am I admit it. I think that's pretty cool. Sealed
Picked it up at a book sale for $15 and inside it had OA 2,3,4 as well from 1st ed. The adventures are in near mint condition and the boxed set is in great condition.

Funny thing is I don't even like OA that much but the wife got it for me as it had D&D on it and she thought I may like it. 

Fear is the Mind Killer

I've been thinking about trying to do an 4E OGL 'oriental adventures' // kara-tur setting in 2 sorts of 'books' - 1 for the race/class/gear/religion crunch (possibly incl an 'honour' mechanic) and general setting with hooks / ideas. Another with all the different types of 'asian' monster (ki-ri, hopping vampire, gaki, etc) in a hooks style - like the monser vault - so each entry has some hooks there too.