Roleplaying based on character stats

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey, so I am new to 4e having played 3.5 a few years ago.  The campaign I played in before was a more hack-and-slash campaign due to a large number of party members that role-playing was minimized by the DM.  My new DM would like to have his players role-play more, but I am unsure on an idea how to play my character based on its stats, also they are rolled stats not using an array or points system so please don't just tell me the stats themselves are wrong.

The character is an Elf Avenger of Corellon that is using a polearm for a polearm momentum build.
Str: 14
Con: 15
Dex: 18
Int: 8
Wis: 18
Cha: 8

My main problem is how I should go about how my character interacts with others having a low intelligence and charisma.  I think it is mostly the conflict of low int and high wis that confuses me most.  I feel like my character would be more of a loner type, but when conversation does happen I just don't know how I should play it how the character might.  Any suggestions are welcome.  Thanks.
In general, I don't like letting ability scores decide character personality in 4e. Ability scores are distributed to enable the character build you want, which has very little to do with how the character is portrayed in conversations.

I mean, I think it's absurd that all sorcerers should be masters of rethoric and born leaders, and that all monks should be barely literate elementary school dropouts.

As for your character, you probably shouldn't play her off as the life of the party or a universal genius, but other than that, do whatever you want. You've already got the 'loner' angle going, so maybe she's the kind that endures company rather than enjoys it. Maybe she always wants to get to the point of a conversation rather than exchange pleasantries.