Should a DM handout area maps?

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to D&D, and me and a couple of my friends interested in the game, as myself in the role of the DM. I have extensively studied the 4th Edition Core Rulebooks, and watched several pro sessions online, and have decided to run a somewhat modified version of the published adventure "Reavers of Harkenwold". However, I am still not certain about one thing - do DMs in general give maps to the players as handouts? I.e. should I give my players a copy of the map of Harkenwold? To some extent this doesn't make sense to me, after all, if they are new adventurers, they shouldn't bear any knowledge about the region. And, if you look at it the other way, as though someone gave them a physical copy of the same map, wouldn't it make things less interesting? A fun thing to do would be for them to do a quest involving the map as a reward or something like that.

Or maybe I'm wrong, could the players be handicapped by a lack of the map?
Thanks in advance.
Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to D&D, and me and a couple of my friends interested in the game, as myself in the role of the DM. I have extensively studied the 4th Edition Core Rulebooks, and watched several pro sessions online, and have decided to run a somewhat modified version of the published adventure "Reavers of Harkenwold".

Welcome to the DMing, and to the forums. I'll offer some advice, but please note I haven't read nor played Harkenwold, though I've heard good things about it from people I trust. So any advice I give should be taken with that in mind.

As well, check out my signature for good articles that are helpful for DMs and players both!

However, I am still not certain about one thing - do DMs in general give maps to the players as handouts? I.e. should I give my players a copy of the map of Harkenwold?

Yes, you can, if it facilitates smoother gameplay.