Triggering two vulnerabilities with one attack?

32 posts / 0 new
Last post
This past Sunday, we had an interesting event. I need advice on how RAW works. I am a RAW follower, because I believe it is the most fair to all my players, some of whom are decade old power gamers, others are brand new to the game. However, I am no rule expert and often check the compendium for help in my ruling. I need help navigating the rules, so, if you can show me a current rule to answer this question, I would appreciate it.

In a fight with a BBEG, our Avenger Morninglord set up radiant vulnerability 10. Another player set up 1-round Vulnerability 10 All.

Then we had another pc hit with a Radiant and Fire power.

I ruled that it triggered BOTH vulnerabilities, giving an extra 20 damage. What do you all think? Was this an appropriate RAW decision, or is there a nuance of a rule of which I am unaware.

Your help would be appreciated. Thank you for your wisdom and respectful assistance.

I would have ruled it the other way around.

My reason for doing so is that Vulnerability 10 all is vulnerability 10 fire, radiant, cold, acid etc.

Also vulnerability do not stack (same with resistances).

If a monster gained resist 10 all and resist 10 fire and was then hit with a fire/radiant attack for 24 damaged, would be take 14 or 4 damage? I am pretty sure the answer is 14.

So I would rule that it works the other way as well.

Amazingly enough, in all of the debating both here and in Charop, no one bothered to look up the answer, and there is one.

From the Rules Compendium:

Not Cumulative
Vulnerabilities to the same damage type are not cumulative. Only the highest vulnerability applies.
    Example: If a creature has vulnerable 5 psychic and then gains vulnerable 10 psychic, it has vulnerable 10 psychic, not vulnerable 15 psychic. Similarly, if a creature has vulnerable 5 psychic and then gains vulnerable 2 to all damage, the creature still has vulnerable 5 psychic, not vulnerable 7 psychic.