Writer looking for world-building help

24 posts / 0 new
Last post
I've been writing a series for 12 years now, and looking to flesh out the world the series takes place in.  I feel like I've begun to fall into a rut, so I think it would be a good idea to get outside opinion on it.

The series itself is not D&D related, it's in an original setting that I created myself, but I have run characters and settings from my series in homebrew D&D and Pathfinder campaigns over the years, and found that it has been one of my best sources of inspiration.  Also, I am well aware that D&D players are among the best at world-building that it gets.

Everyone who helps with the world-building process will recieve official mention in future published works in my series, as well as potential insider info about what is going on in the series before the books themselves hit the shelves.   The series currently stands at 9 books, with potential for expanding into other media formats.  Although I have spoken to publishers and recieved favorable replies, I am holding off on actually publishing until I have completed the series.

Mostly what I need help with is that I have about 10 major nations, and 35 significant locations/cities.  This has lasted me through writing the first 2 books, but now I have another 7 books with full plots and ready to be written, but the locations they take place in are hazy at best, and in some cases completely nonexistent...

A brief overview of the setting:  The world itself is called Fingaethia; there is a large pantheon of Elder Gods as well as lesser Gods and demigods, with twin brothers Mannas and Sirnas as the joint leaders of the pantheon.  I have created over 40 unique races for the setting, there are no dwarves, elves, orcs, or any of the other traditional fantasy races.  In D&D terms, this would be a low-magic setting, with next to no magic items except for certain rare relics, and with magic use being limited to certain racial abilities.