Help me understand, please.

39 posts / 0 new
Last post
Greetings to all and well met. 

I am a new DM, a "complete noob" as they say, though I have been a player with some experience and have a general grasp of the rules. Forgotten Realms is my soft spot since I was a teenager, so I have decided now that it's time to get some friends and role play our hearts out. 

After some consideration I have decided to use the 4th Edition, since the general ruling seems to be that it's more welcome to newcomers. Although my knowledge of it is small, I immediately disliked the "skill challenges" mechanic which create dice rolling instead of roleplaying (amazed how WoTC thought it was a good idea), but in general didn't find many faults with it (as I said, "noob").

My main problem, which I didn't think I would have, was tracking down 4E adventures for the Forgotten Realms. I mean, there's plenty of adventures, but most of them don't seem to take place in the FR but to some distant, weird place, that it doesn't appear in any FR map.

What is going on and why does this happen? For example, the "Slaying Stone", where does it take place? Where is the actual place in the FR? And if it's not there, why is it like this and what should I do? Should I just invent the place as part of the FR? Because that feels pretty lame to me. I mean, there's an entire map of the FR 4e, why are we forced to play in places that don't exist?

I know that there are adventures that take place in the FR but they are too few. Bear in mind that I also need a pre-published adventure because it's too early for me to create my own (rules wise). Is there any campaign length adventure for the 4e (at least 10 lvls) and, if not, why not?! Is such absence the norm?

Also, is the Neverwinter Campaign Guide considered an adventure as well? Will that (and the other core books of course) be enough to have a story of from 1-10 lvls?