Casual Play Extortion Deck. Tips/Suggestions?

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
So I just got into Magic a couple days ago. I purchased the Orzhov Opression/Simic Synthesis Intro Decks and the Deck Builder's Toolkit.
I starting focusing on the extortion capabilities of the Orzhov Opression Deck as that was what attracted me the most. I've made a few tweaks myself to it now and was wondering if you could give me any tips or strategies for extortion decks. Bear in mind I was only able to use the cards that I had gotten from my packs, and I have very little knowledge about deck building when it comes to Magic.

My deck is as follows:

Creatures:

Lands:

[deck]4x Evolving Wilds
8x Plains
9x Swamp[/deck]

Enchantments:

[deck]2x Dying Wish
2x Pacifism
1x Divine Favor
1x One Thousand Lashes
1x Crippling Blight[/deck]

Instants:

[deck]3x Murder
2x Shielded Passage
1x Victim of Night
1x Cursebreak
1x Safe Passage[/deck]

Sorceries:

[deck]2x Angelic Edict
1x Purge the Profane[/deck]

So that's my deck. Any tips on what cards combo well, or any particular strategies I could use with this Black/White deck would be very appreciated. Any changes in terms of card selection is also welcomed. This is my first real attempt at customizing a deck to how I would like to play, So if it's a really bad setup don't go too hard on me
I will be using this deck to play casually with friends.

Thank you in advance for any replies/taking the time to read through my post.