Portable Gaming Table

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi!

As many poeple know, geekchic is an awesome website for gaming tables. But if you know that then you know how expensive they are!
I'm an apprentice engineer and this this year I have to make a project.

My project will be the multiple games, portable gaming table!
I plan to include (mainly) DnD, card games (like poker and MtG) and Warhammer (like... warhammer I guess).    

The idea would be to have a big section&drawer for the DM at one end, and have 6 smaller drawers for the players.
They could store everything from pens, pencils, character sheets, minatures, d20 set, MtG decks and a cup holder (and a nuts holder).

In the middle there would be a velveteen recess so that dungeons tiles can be placed and double up for a nice card playing surface.

Most importantly this would fold up to something smaller than a car back seat (so we can go from house to house), be car boot proof, weigh virtually nothing and not cost me the earth whilst storing our games securely in one place.

Just want to know if something like this already exists and if there is much of a market to something like this.
I'm making this either way because my group really needs it, but ti would be cool to know the community at large's comments, ideas, opinions. 

Hello Cheswin and welcome to the D&D Community!

Interesting idea indeed! While similar gaming tables exist, i don't think any are portable so its definitly original. 

It might end up being a little heavy to transport with ease though, especially if its large and made of hardwood.

Let us know  how it goes!
 I think this has a lot of scope. But agree that having it strong enough for people to lean on and light enough to carry will be tricky. 
sign me up! you have a preorder from me when it goes commercial