D&D next Playtest pack 10 29 12 deep analysis (part 1)

19 posts / 0 new
Last post

Good morning, my name is Rodrigo and I ’m going to analyze this new playtesting pack (10-29-2012)

Let’s start talking a little about my experience :

I started playing d&d  8years ago, playing 3.0 and 3.5 editions at least once a week, never interrupting playing for more then a couple of months a year. I have a huge experience as a master and as a player, as me and my core group (other two guys) introduced many others to the game, being in contact with most of the d&d groups in the nearer cities. We also tested 4.0 for one and a half year, and we left that for 3.5 recently because it was too skill intensive (too many stuffs to remember, hours combats with hours of plans simply to place toons on the terrain), too low in role play and absolutely not master friendly, even for us with years of experience. 3.x edition is absolutely unbalanced (melee classes only roll dices in combat, while high level casters do miracles and such, also prestige classes are not equilibrated) but at last It was master friendly, with some easy combat mechanic (not even needing for some terrain map in 60-70% of the cases), and master touch could easily fix all the classes gap with some focused drop (even if “you are the gear you wear” is a mechanic we don’t really like in role-play terms).

What we expect from d&d NEXT: