Questions for the author of the season

63 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey all,

Chris Tulach and Trevor Kidd recommended I pop into this forum and introduce myself, and answer questions you might have about the season as I have time.

First of all, I'm Rodney Thompson (duh), and I'm now the Tabletop Games Manager at Wizards of the Coast. That means I'm in charge of the team that produces the D&D board games (like Castle Ravenloft and Wrath of Ashardalon) and any other non-RPG games we might do. Of course, I only assumed this position recently, and up until that point I was a developer, then a designer, on D&D. I also worked on the Star Wars Saga Edition RPG as lead designer/developer for the line.

So, if you're running Season 4 and have any questions, feel free to leave them here. I can't guarantee I'll be super prompt, but I'll try to check the thread at least once a week, and get answers before the next session.

Thanks, and I hope everyone enjoys March of the Phantom Brigade!

Rodney Thompson

Advanced Designer

Dungeons & Dragons R&D

Wizards of the Coast

Follow me on Twitter: wotc_rodney

First of all, great work on March of the Phantom Brigade!  It's a very good adventure, one I would be comfortable running for a home game.  I do have a few questions, however.

1- I noticed that there are no monetary rewards listed in the adventure, simply a roll on the random treasure table.  I was curious about this design decision.  Was it simply felt that with a magic item awarded with each treasure that additional cash would let the party function 'over-budget'?  Or was this just simplifying things, since it's very likely a group will acquire superfluous items that they will sell?