Heroic Tier Shaman Items?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post

What would be your wish list for items in the heroic tier for a Shaman?   My DM asked me for one, and well I'm fairly clueless when it comes to items.   We can use the player's handbook, dungeon master's guide and adventurer's vaults 1 and 2.

Thanks for any suggestions

(1) What kind of Shaman are you playing?

(2) What race are you?

(3) What are the other members of your group?

(4) You can't use the items in the PHB2? Was that an oversight?

(5) Are you planning to use leather, hide, chain, scale, ...?

Some general information about what your character wants to accomplish goes a long way towards selecting items.

I'm no expert, but I just created a level 5 Wilden bear shaman for a new campaign I'm starting, and I can tell you the items I chose.  We were given 4000gp and weren't allowed items over level 5, so I haven't looked too hard at higher level heroic stuff.

Totemic Spear +1 (lv2): turns your attacks with range "melee spirit 1" into "melee spirit 2."  Early on, I think this is the best implement available because it greatly opens up your positioning possibilities.  The other great thing about this is that you can use another implement for your attacks if you want, and as long as you're wielding this in the other hand, you still get the reach 2.  So I basically plan to use this forever.  From AV2.

Healer's Hide Armor +1 (lv5): gives enhancement bonus to healing powers.  This includes Healing Spirit as well as powers like Spirit's Shield and Spirit of the Healing Flood.  This enchantment works for chainmail as well if you want to take that route, but isn't available for leather.  From AV2.

Hungry Spirits Totem +1 (lv2): I just got this for the daily power in case of emergencies (on a hit, you and ally close to target can spend a surge), since I'm the only healer for a party of six.  From PH2.