Playtester Profile with Kalex the Omen

Playtester Profile with Kalex the Omen

Why don’t you start off by telling us a little bit about you and your history with D&D, what you're playing now, and anything else you want people to know about you?

My name is Alex Karaczun. I am 45 and live in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with my brilliant and lovely wife, and our incredibly cute pup Zoe. I work in Information Technology, though my schooling is in English and Creative Writing. I’ve been playing D&D since 1979, and have played virtually every edition since the Dungeons & Dragons Basic Set (6th Printing). I’ve played over a hundred different systems by other companies. Everything from Champions (Hero System) and Traveller (the other two of the original three RPGs), to FASAs Star Trek, Star Wars d6, Strombringer, Call of Cthulhu, G.U.R.P.S., and Amber diceless, The list literally goes on, and on. Since the early to mid-80s, my friends and I have tried our hands at system design with varying degrees of success. Our current project is looking more and more like it will see the light of day (shameless plug). I have been almost exclusively a Dungeon Master for the past 30 years. I currently am running a 4e campaign set in the Nentir Vale, and using mostly published modules (The Slaying Stone, Reavers of Harkenwold, Cairn of the Winter King, Madness at Gardmore Abbey, and then on into the Chris Perkins “Giants” remakes). I have been designing a new campaign world for a couple of years now called Vaereth, and a setting in the world tentatively called “The Twelve Kingdoms.” I am waiting to see if I will want to develop it for 5th Edition/Next.

What do you think of the D&D Next playtest so far?