Six Questions with Designer Peter Lee

Just as we did with Kevin Tatroe, here is a short interview done with Peter Lee, designer/developer of the game.

1. Tell us a little bit about your history with D&D and miniatures games.

The first time I heard of D&D is when my brother was given a copy of the basic blue box. Being the younger brother, I had to know what this arcane game was. Fortunately, my DM brother needed players and let me play, so I’ve been rolling up characters since I was 7 years old.

I didn’t play a lot until early high school when 2nd edition came out, and I started painting miniatures about the same time. I didn’t get a lot of time to paint once I hit college. I graduated in 1997 with a degree in Computer Science and Chemistry. I returned to D&D a few years later when 3rd edition D&D was released. This rekindled my love of miniature painting with a vengeance, but my dream of painting every monster that could be encountered in a game basically collapsed – I couldn’t paint 60+ minis for each adventure that I wanted to run.

Enter D&D Miniatures – I picked up a few boosters of Harbinger and loved them, but more importantly, I fell in love with the D&D Miniatures game. I lived in Madison, Wisconsin at the time, and I would frequently drive to Milwaukee to play in the tournaments there. The Milwaukee miniature judge, Chris Tulach, invited me as a miniatures judge for GenCon in 2004. I was hired at Wizards to work on Miniatures at the beginning of 2008, and my duties were expanded to include the new board game line a couple of years ago. Recently, I’ve worked on Conquest of Nerath, the upcoming Lords of Waterdeep, and all the Adventure System games starting with Castle Ravenloft.

2. What has your history and passion for miniatures done to affect your design and development work on the game?