Oh Where for Art Thou Wizards???

I descended on Comic-Con 2008 this year with the rabid abandon I have swooped in upon it for the past 20 years. Yes, I am a veteran. One of my most cherished preoccupations has always been the WotC area (not anywhere near the minimal size of an actual booth). Lo and behold, nothing this year! Nary a scrap of the gaming company I support both verbally, and, more importantly, financially.
What happened????
I refuse to belive it was a transportation issue, with all the added costs of gasoline! Hasbro, your parent company, was there in full force, if only for their exclusives booth. How sad.
You had a chance to bridge the gap between "old school" gamers, and the next generation. You missed it. There has always been a rift between what D&D was, and what you have daringly changed it into becoming. 4E is the new frontier for this. ( Pardon me me if I mix geek metaphors here).
I am, personally, always going to be a 2E adherent, but that does not change the fact that you missed the opprotunity of a lifetime)
Gary Gygax passed away on March 4th, 2008. He was, and is, the Godfatherof ALL RPG's, if not modern gaming.The fact that this has failed to register with you is bad enough, but the fact that you Had the chance to make a majoir tribute, in one of the most respected arenas, is pathetic.
The game he invented, the second biggest cash cow for all of you at WotC, warranted a tribute that was much more then you were willing to give. And before you go on about costs, not going to a "gaming con", or any other BS, realize the PR you could have garnered from this. This is the event Hollywood watches, and, by virtue of crap T.V., the rest of the world. You had the chance to follow up on the life of a legend, make a new legacy for the games you have derived from it, attract new gamers, and build upon your success, all while paying tribute to an Icon in the industry.